McClellan, Jennifer, Virginia Senate District 9

McClellan, Jennifer, Virginia Senate District 9


Charles City; Part of Hanover,
Henrico and Richmond City

P.O. Box 396 • Richmond, VA 23218
Chief of Staff: Abbey Philips;
PAC Director:  Ngiste Abebe

Senate Committees: 

Agriculture, Conservation and Natural Resources 

Local Government 


Personal Information

Birthday: December 28

Place of Birth: Petersburg, VA

Religion: Presbyterian

Spouse: David Mills

Children: Jackson, Samantha

Membership & Affiliation:
Virginia Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Commission, Chair

Southern Region Education Board Legislative Advisory Council

Virginia Indian Commemorative Commission

Task Force on the Preservation of the History of Former Enslaved African Americans

A Hunt-Kean Leadership Fellow

YWCA of Richmond Board of Directors

Children’s Museum of Richmond Board of Trustees

Chippenham/Johnston Willis Hospital Board of Trustees

Virginia League of Planned Parenthood
Board of Directors

Moton Museum Board of Trustees

Virginia Premier Health Plans Board of Directors

Virginia Center on Aging Advisory Committee

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority

Fan District Association

Fan Women’s Club

Democratic National Committee

Capital Region Caucus

University of Richmond (B.A.)

University of Virginia School of Law (J.D.)  

Elected State/Local Office:
Virginia House of Delegates, 2005-2017

Virginia Senate 2017-Present

Associate General Counsel, Verizon Communications Inc.


Naral Pro-Choice Virginia Aggie Wolf Defender of Choice Award (2018)

The Virginia Education Association Legislative Champion Award (2017 & 2018)

Virginia League of Conservation Voters Legislative Hero Award (2017 & 2018)

Virginia Sexual and Domestic Violence Action Alliance Act.Honor.Hope Award (2017)

Sexual Assault Resource Agencey (SARA) Annette DeGregoria Grimm Award (2017)

EMILY’s List Gabrielle Giffords Rising Star Award Finalist (2017)
Virginia School Boards Association Legislative Award (2016)

Swanson Courage Award for Civil Rights (2016)

National Association of Social Workers (NASW), Virginia Chapter, Legislator of the Year (2016)

Richmond Bar Association Oliver Hill Award (2016)

YWCA of Richmond Outstanding Women Award for Law & Government (2014)

The Virginia Leadership Institute Trailblazer Award (2014)

Fan Free Clinic Exceptional Dedication & Public Service Award (2014)

The Virginia Conference of the American Association of University Professors Col. Michael S. Harris (Ph.D.) Award (2014)

The Virginia Education Association Legislative Champion (2014 and 2013) and Solid as a Rock Awards (2015 and 2013)

Virginia League for Planned Parenthood Mary Anne Reynolds Award (2012)

Virginia Commonwealth University Student National Medical Association Health Policy Award (2012)

Resolve Infertility Hero Award (2012)

Virginia League of Conservation Voters Legislative Hero (2015, 2012, 2011, 2009,        2008, 2006)

Better Housing Coalition Golden Hammer Special Recognition for Neighborhood Design & Planning (2011)

Virginia PTA Child Advocate of the Year Award (2011)

Democratic Black Caucus of Virginia Leadership Award (2011)

Virginia AARP Older Virginians Champion Award (2011)

Chesterfield Public Education Foundation School Bravo Award (2010)

Upsilon Nu Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Citizen of the Year Award  (2010)

Girls for Change It Girl Award (2009)

National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives NOBLE Civil        Rights Justice by Action Award (2009)

Virginia Housing Coalition Housing Leadership Award (2009)

Sorensen Institute of Political Leadership Expression of Ideals Award (2009)

Politico’s 50 Politicos to Watch (2009)

Virginia Lawyers Weekly Leader in the Law (2008)

Richmond NAACP Freedom Fund Banquet Award (2008)

Virginia Super Lawyers Magazine Top Young Lawyers in Virginia (2007)

Virginia Jaycees Outstanding Young Virginian (2006)

Leadership Metro Richmond Servant Leader Award (2005)

Style Weekly’s Top 40 Under 40 (2005)

Virginia State Bar Young Lawyer’s Conference Edward R. Burnett Young Lawyer of the Year Award (2002)